## Southwest NS Municipalities to Formally Pursue Heritage Funding

## September 17, 2015



(Representatives from nine southwest Nova Scotia municipalities met to formally incorporate the Canada Legacy Society, their regional heritage funding initiative)

(<u>ANNAPOLIS ROYAL, NS</u>) It's official. Nine municipal units in southwestern Nova Scotia have now properly been incorporated as the <u>Canada Legacy Society</u> (CLS), a not-for-profit municipal corporation created to develop a regional heritage and cultural funding strategy to mark Canada's 150<sup>th</sup> birthday.

The Certificate of Incorporation registered with Nova Scotia's Registry of Joint Stock was approved on August 25 and announced at a meeting of municipal representatives and staff in held in the Council Chamber of the Municipality of the County of Annapolis on September 10.

The participating municipal units are the Municipality of the County of Kings; the Town of Middleton, The Municipality of the County of Annapolis; the Town of Annapolis Royal; The Municipality of the District of Digby; the Town of Digby; the Municipality of Argyle; the Town of Yarmouth and the Municipality of the District of Yarmouth.

Canada legacy Society President Michael Tompkins, mayor of the town of Annapolis Royal, hailed this major step.

"All the participating municipalities are keen to get going and excited about the potential of this initiative", Tompkins said, "The unity of purpose and level of cooperation around this proposal has truly been impressive."

Application for funding has already been made to the Government of Canada as part of the "On the Road to 2017" plan, commemorating and supporting significant heritage milestones of a broad national

perspective; and a submission for funding has also been made to the Province of Nova Scotia through the Department of Communities, Culture and Heritage.

The formation of the <u>Canada Legacy Society</u> gives flexibility to the municipal units in securing funding support and administration and gives the nine participating municipalities a significant opportunity to collaboratively put the history of their area on a national scale.

"All the participating municipalities have been totally supportive of this approach from the very beginning", said Linda Gregory, CLS Secretary and Warden for the Municipality of the District of Digby, who explained, "Because there's no other realistic option but to work together if we are to fully realize these opportunities".

Gregory's comments were echoed by Municipality of the County of Annapolis Councillor Marilyn Wilkins, who also acts as Treasurer on the Society executive.

"There's a common heritage tapestry that has been woven through these nine municipalities that stretch back through thousands of years of First Nations traditions augmented by the chronicles of over 500 years of European settlement legacy; something that's truly unique in Canada and we believe is essential in telling the Canadian narrative", Wilkins maintained.

The Legacy working group has been chaired by Municipality of Annapolis Chief Administrative Officer John Ferguson over the past year, and Ferguson said that he would be prepared, with the support of the Annapolis County Council, to coordinate CLS meetings for a short period until a formal working executive structure was put in place.

-30-

## For additional information contact: Peter MacLellan

Canada Legacy Society Communications Coordinator

(902) 308-3331

John Ferguson

Canada Legacy Society Interim Administrator

(902) 532-3130